Manifesto

Standard

Day 6 – manifesto

“Cherish your solitude. Take trains by yourself to places you have never been. Sleep out alone under the stars. Learn how to drive a stick shift. Go so far away that you stop being afraid of not coming back. Say no when you don’t want to do something. Say yes if your instincts are strong, even if everyone around you disagrees. Decide whether you want to be liked or admired. Decide if fitting in is more important than finding out what you’re doing here. Believe in kissing.”
― Eve Ensler

I want to say yes to…

Being Confident. Yes to being me in all my glory. The glory of GOD in me and it is my own personal shade of HIS glory given to all of us HIS created ones to enjoy. I see beauty in myself and for a long long time I did not. Losing fear.. Yes to personal growth!!! Yes to solitude because out of it IS coming wonderful things.

I am going to confess something to you or to myself or to whomever reads this.
Today I got some new art products. I got given birthday money early. So happy. So deliriously happy. Closing down sale in my city and everything was 50% off. So for a much smaller amount I got things I wanted and love and possibly will go back to get some more! The words on my pic are from that purchase today!!
Anyhow I came home. Sat on my bed with new things very happy. Than because of a conversation I had on-line with a friend the happiness started to dwindle and the wind in my sales lost it’s power.. I did this sitting thing I do and have done for a long time. I lost my momentum. Unfortunately half of the day I just sort of sat and whittled away time till at least Zali my daughter came home from high school. Ohhh I am a little ashamed to say that.. I could have been doing art half the day or anything else constructive instead of right now last thing at night.
Tonight I have finished off a picture I started yesterday with reference to the above days prompt. Actually I was mailed the wrong prompt lol so I adapted to this one today which is the right one. They both fit. That’s just how art is in my life these days. Flows in just about any direction I am facing.
The way this picture came about isn’t by sitting and thinking about what should I do. I just saw the picture on the back of a ‘Frankie’ magazine and thought I love that I am going to have a go at drawing it. Had I sat and thought about it I might have given up. But when I started it I just kept at it. The background wasn’t even a blank page it was a pink page already created to journal on.

I kept going though. When I got up to drawing the butterfly I was like ‘How am I going to make it look authentic, there are too many little details to draw?.’ But I just kept going because I do not want it to be exact but a representation of it and I don’t think I ever would have got it the same any way. The original pencil lines were fainter so I could go over them till I was reasonably happy with the shape. Then I just defined the lines and colored it in. Created with Faber Castell Gelatos and I am surprised at myself that I have so much more confidence. I can’t really say it was one course or another that taught me this. More a variety of artists and just doing what I love to do; I went here and there and artists always say keep at it. Make it something you regularly do. Draw, write, paint etc but do it daily and don’t be anal about it just keep at it. Embrace the process. If you don’t like it keep going and work at it, don’t give up. Kelly Rae Roberts is the one who helped me to press on even if I didn’t like what I was creating.

Go by your intuition. The picture that I chose to draw just so fits my life. I have gone inward. I have focused more on spiritual inward life. I have experienced deep peace. Butterflies have featured in my art and writing before. New life.Completely different life. Light. Wings. Flying on wings.. Spirit. Confidence was my word for the year last year. I don’t have to think much about creativity I just know what words to use instinctively and it is all meaningful to me and to my life and how I live. That to me is a miracle especially when I sit for a great deal of the day and find myself vegetating. It is the straight path GOD promises to people who trust Him and do not worry about trying to understand.

Incredibly personal and meaningful and I love what I have done.. I am happy with it. And last little note is the bright red lips showing through even the small part that I have underneath the butterfly signify that there is more a boldness in me. I know I know it is small. But I think therein lies some great hope and the lips ha ha show that even though my spirit speaks mostly in my creative life and my voice has been hidden it is breaking through now YE HA.
There is still SO MUCH MORE to come.. YES YES to more boldness and YES YES to more confidence!!!!

One response »

  1. Love this, very inspiring to me. I have been having a lot of time just sitting lately too…I don’t like it much…need to break out of these doldrums. I admire your confidence and need to focus as you have shared here. Thanks friend for sharing your self, it helps.

Leave a Reply

