Elizabeth Gilbert’s Creativity Workshop

Standard

These are prompts from the the course in title I am currently doing. I seriously need prompts to get writing on the page.. The course is through Udemy online and it has captions for deaf. It was on sale over New Year. I probably shouldn’t have bought it because I have been short on cash but the sale was that good… Learning a lot through it. Like the extra prompts and resources available along with her video teachings.

What was the last think you really wondered about?

How people stay motivated and how they know what they want to do, where they spend their time and what direction to go next..
I go from here to there searching, drooling, wondering, awwing, wishing, wanting, ahhing.. Wishfully hungry for something more but never really knowing what so I sit empty minded or busy myself collecting beautiful and creative things. I do sit a lot. Not trying. Not enjoying. Just passing time and getting more annoyed with myself even though I have plenty of things I could be doing.
I do lap up art styles, free resources, people’s stories, free art videos, book after book both paper and ebook… I longingly look at people’s art, watch documentary style program’s of people telling their stories. I collect words, pictures, quotes, photos of inspiring things. I do courses when I can afford them. I love sharing my art. I like that people take note and it encourages them in their life too. I am loving that people are saying I am getting better at what I do.. The biggest wonder is. Ok I have done this poetry class, I have watched this art lesson, I have read this book etc. Now I wonder what I do with all I have learnt. Where should I spend my time and on what? I usually cannot think of a single thing and just sit with my wondering. But there are moments where it finds it way out of me into another place.

When was the last time you experienced creative flow?

Yesterday. I was busy for hours. I knew what I wanted to do. So different to my normal blocked and stagnant non-flow. I was actually sitting in someone else’s home they were watching a movie and I was just playing on my phone. Kinda just passing time and thinking about a person and a problem with that person and I thought what is the answer? I thought I could art journal my feelings instead. Than like a bolt of lightning hit I just wanted to get home and do it. There was a purposeful directive in my heart and like a pull on me to get to it.

I felt immensely happy when I got home and started. A bubbling up kind of joy. I didn’t really know how to express it though. Cause my main art expression outlet is collage. I just pulled out magazines, I have a stack in my bedroom ready to go. And started looking through them. Finding images, words etc that spoke to me. Or conveyed what I was feeling inside that for the most part is almost impossible to put into words. I was amazed how it came about actually. How I found words, images etc and that my mind was able to string them together and produce something.
Especially since for so much of my current life my brain is empty. Time passes like you wouldn’t believe. My mind is working and I am placing images and words here and there till I know it is done. For something that seems so easy it takes a fair amount of thought, arranging, changing things around on the page. It is incredibly spiritual for me. I can see other images and whole new pages can sorta pass through my mind. I see an image and I can imagine scenarios for it but put it aside for now because its not what I am wanting at this current time.
I actually came up with three pages in this flow. I was tired at the end lol. But I have collected images and words for years now so I have an abundant supply to work with for the next time and the time after that and the time after that etc. The thing about collage is the thought process and spiritual aspect of your work there is no end to it. It’s endless and I have not grown tired of it. Each finished page continues to speak to me no matter how many times I look at it. I have so many books full of my journalling and I can see my growth and development in putting the pages together. GOD speaks to me through this process so its very personal, very meaningful and doing my work lifts me out of the every day and it is very fulfilling.

That GOD’s Spirit is involved you cannot get better than that. I think actually though it is getting better. I am more able to put my heart and soul into it. I am more in tune with GODS Spirit and sensing HIM. I am starting to see more how my whole life and the world around me fits.. This flow isn’t just me there is a commonality with mankind around me. Spirit is not contained to time, geography or one type of people. There is a common ground if you can even label it that way in spiritual matters and you can find it in anyone who is a spiritul/soulful person. But it is not something you can easily explain and that is why it is so powerful, unique, beautiful and wonderful that the spirit can flow onto a simple blank page with cut outs, color and a glue stick. I think very very compelling. I see that spirit draws people to my pages.. And although I have called it work. It is play and joy for me and food. It is nourishing my inner woman.

Leave a Reply

