Just Be

Standard

ROOT: 30 Day Journal Project

Day 16

Today’s Inspiration – And don’t think the garden loses its ecstasy in winter. It’s quiet, but the roots are down there riotous.

– Rumi said that.

Today’s Journal Prompt: When I think of riotous roots, I imagine…

The unseen soul or spirit of a person that thing that cries out or longs for more or divinely dreams. Spirit is willing GOD says but the flesh is weak. It’s that life force in every man, woman and child. Its fire in the eye but sometimes life gets so hard and it seems to extinguish and disappear. But it’s still there maybe just hidden, or forgotten or so deep within that it appears to have lost its way. It’s not just manifesting in a seen way. With outward signs. Spirit doesn’t die. Even if the body does.

Just what I think about when I read the inspiration above about winter and I guess I have seen the slumbering spirit/soul in me that which is alive but doesn’t feel particularly free.

Not dead. But not alive in ways it wishes.

It’s nearly spring here. Days are warming up. Skies are clear. Blossom is out and there’s just more colour and life about. Bright daffodils waving in the garden. Windows can be opened and washing hung outside! It’s just really really nice after months of wind, rain and dark sombre clouds.

Riotous roots were always there but the seasons of cold and wet shuts so much down.

I’ve been through a dark season or two. Where I’ve been shut down. It’s similar to the seasons of life. The light does boost your spirits but it can serious hurt your eyes and sometimes you cannot bear it you want dark. The dark does drain you. I hope I never forget though the winters of spirit because they will come again. I don’t want to close up shop. It’s hard to focus, it’s hard to get up every day but GOD promises us that the Spirit is willing so during these bleak years. I learned to go inward to where there is no limit. Imagination, faith, relying on the ever present presence of GOD and realising I’m never ever alone. To recognise the life force still there within when outward signs are zero. These are the riotous roots. Spiritual power available 24/7. World-wide there are prayer groups, online there are friends and family in spirit who can lift you up day and night. Resting as nature itself does in winter. Living by the bare essentials. Receiving help when offered. Finding things to be thankful for. Relying on GOD. Talking to GOD but also when you really struggle to say anything HE is there and still loves you and you just rest in HIM.

Trees grow and it takes many many years for the big trees to grow and they don’t move anywhere they just grow. Big trees teach me so much.

Humans we don’t just allow ourselves to simply just be. We put so much pressure on ourselves to do, to go, to say, to function like him or her. But to just be. Our Spirit is humming away inside anyway. It’s created to function a full life just by existing. Just to be alive is incredible. Without me doing anything my heart is keeping me alive my body breathes in and out. Every single day! GOD has fashioned me amazingly. So much so much I take for granted.

Even now people are on machines every day to help them breathe and they would do anything to breathe normally. And yet billions of us do that simple thing every day. Just breathe. Just exist. It’s a blessing to breathe.

It’s what we think about. Like a majestic tree does not die in winter but is alive with its riotous roots below in the deep soil. So a human being with heart pumping, breath going in and out every day, alive under the sun or clouds or stars has a Spirit soul and a connection to GOD.. 24/7 HE is with you. HE even goes wherever you go. HE knows all about you. He doesn’t leave when your shut down or breathing on a machine. He can hear silent screams. HE knows a word before it is on our tongue. HE knows everything and can help you get through the coldest darkest winter because HE is light and where there is light darkness has to flee.

I used water colour pencils for this pic.. Although many plants are budding and blossoms are brightly flowering.. Some trees are still just bare branches.. They stand in the bright sunshine starkly saying winter is still here for now..

 

IMG_2009.JPG

2 responses »

  1. There is so much you’ve said here that really speaks to me. Your attitude is a lesson for me today. I needed to hear this. Jesus has been showing me this lately…just BE…but still I’ve been beating myself up on an almost daily basis for not doing better, doing more. He takes off the pressure that we put on ourselves. Thank you for reminding me that there are seasons in life and Jesus does not ever leave us. I love the thing about the riotous roots, what a great concept too.

  2. It’s been a wonderful experience doing this 30 days though I have not done them consecutively. Just keep plodding through.. I do struggle because I have a quiet life. I browsed through my brothers face book and he’s a very social person.. Been all the over the world. I’m nothing like him… I’m me and that’s ok. But we compare ourselves and get down because we aren’t like anyone else. And I read a devotional not long before seeing your reply. It was about living unto our Lord and if that’s all we did its enough. I cried because I look for recognition. Something.. A blessing or something.. But when I gave all my trials to God and just decided to do and be without anything more.. As if I lived my life and it was for God alone… I put this post out after that.. Happy and content just putting it out..
    And then very soon after your two comments came in… Like God was blessing me for letting go of all the things I wished for, hoped for….. That He’d be the one that took care of everything else.. Such a blessing in this… Just being… Without any expectations… Incredible.. And still He blesses us..

Leave a Reply

