ROOT: 30 Day Journal Project Day 9

Standard

Today’s Inspiration:
“A man should hear a little music, read a little poetry, and see a fine picture every day of his life, in order that worldly cares may not obliterate the sense of the beautiful which God has implanted in the human soul.”
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe said that.

Prompt :
My soul craves more…

Realness, connection, intimacy.. Soul.. Spirit.. People who connect to me are few and far between. So my soul finds its rest in GOD who created every person and that sense consoles me when I don’t have social graces.. I guess when I am craving these things and all the more so I am kind of driven to GOD.. I really only find peace in HIS presence. I sense that the cravings I have which “nothing earthly” satisfies only seem to push me to HIM with more urgency. I can certainly enjoy everything better when He is in the foreground.
All the things in the picture help occupy my time and are such a joy. They are things that bring me pleasure and spur me on.. Life would be boring without.. My heart just loves soaking in inspiration whatever way that comes..

Today my youngest daughter and I visited the local art gallery… What got me today were paintings of the area I live in presently as it was many years ago. Extraordinary to see the artists impressions of this city last century. Landmarks that we well know in the background was exciting to me. I was driving around tonight imagining what it was like. Dips in the road could have been a creek with running water? It was surreal.
I stood for ages taken back in time. I’m surprised sometimes what moves me. I like art that tells a story or explains something.. Not into abstract art. I like romance and stories and lyrics (more these days) because I need help to hear the music. I can listen to a song over and over and over (headphones) and I seem to get lost in it. I love imagination, other-worldly stories like Narnia or Lord of the Rings.

I bought some proper water color paper and water color pencils to paint this pic back ground motivated by the prompt. It was such a better experience. Water colors blend so nicely together and the paper held its shape unlike thinner stuff that it bleeds through on.. Easy to use is what I like. I prefer simple and I just shut down without expression of some sort.. I have always been a person who has one or two close friends and that seems to be enough.. But if I don’t have the interactions I go a little crazy.. People need something more than their own company.. I need to push myself.. Make myself read or write or sit down and do art. I always feel better after and kick myself why I waited so long.

It was nice to see art at the museum. It was nice seeing my daughter pull out the water color paints this afternoon and do some painting on her own. Its comforting at almost the end of my day writing this now. Although I keep thinking who would want to read it? Its not interesting? But see that doesn’t matter. I post links to my blog every time I do this on face book and I think quite a few go without any notice. But my soul shares anyway and its comforting to do that nevertheless. I have met amazing friends this way. And I feel accomplished doing it too.. I am so thankful to all those men and women who share their talents and especially those who leave behind beautiful works that we can enjoy of the past, their hopes and dreams and visions!

 

IMG_1629.JPG

IMG_0004.JPG

Leave a Reply

