The Art I want to Practise is…

Standard

ROOT: 30 Day Journal Project

Day 4

“To practise any art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow. So do it.” Kurt Vonnegut

Prompt – The art I want to practise is…

My answer – More a list of what comes to mind when I think of Art and myself and practicing it. I love how art can be in any form and there’s no right or wrong way to express yourself.

(Seeing/sensing/working with Gods Spirit and helping others see Him) I literally see Him everywhere and I’m so much more aware of Him through all sorts of mediums. I can’t keep it to myself!

Time I have lots of time to create and its enjoyable.

Connection – art connects like minds. It brings people together.

Spirit.. Its so many things but the person who creates any sort of Art form, their Spirit is involved, its deeper than what appears. If you can sense spirit in someone’s work it makes it dimensional. Speaks at any time, even centuries after and in oh so many different ways. It can move us and make us think new thoughts or remember times past.

Expression.. Speaks, emotional, a picture can speak a thousand words they say.

God… I’m a believer art moves me to see Him and hear Him in more and more ways and so many don’t see Him or know Him and because its all very good. My desire is to share the truth and to make the unseen seen.. Religion divides people and drives them away. Art can evoke peace, bring harmony and unite. Art invites openness, it very core is freedom so it breathes a new way to express the way the artist sees the world and what springs from the created in their creating.

Faith… Another way to share your faith to express it and learn from others. Art opens up freedom to share what often cannot be said or might not be able to be said. It transcends just words that can be so easily misunderstood.

Reason… When I create art I feel a reason to live. The very soul inside me is at work even in rest. In ordinary life with disability I’m often shut down. But art gives me freedom and a way to communicate what’s inside me that I can express the way I want too.

Gifts… Things inside are shared. Words unsaid are spoken. Thoughts are freed There’s a sharing that gives and helps others that heals and helps you too. Spirit is essence and cannot be contained. I see that people are gifted to compliment each other. All jigsaw pieces that fit together perfectly. If one piece is missing people lack. Gifts are meant to be shared and enjoyed and given freely.

Story… You can tell your story. You can transcend your circumstances because its shared. You can leave behind glimpses of your very soul that continue to speak. The retelling invites others to share their own. Telling is powerful. It can heal more than just the person who owns it.

20140806-181400-65640092.jpg

Leave a Reply

